Independent Music Publicity


Formed in Glasgow in 1983 by singer and main songwriter Justin Currie and guitarist Iain Harvie, during their long and distinguished career Del Amitri released four Top 10 albums and a string of memorable hit singles. On January 20th 2014 three of their classic albums – ‘Waking Hours’ (1989), ‘Change Everything’(1992), and ‘Twisted’ (1995) – will be re-released as part of Universal Music Catalogue’s new Re-presents label, which takes classic retro albums and re-masters and re-presents them in an exciting 2-CD package. The albums have been re-mastered from the original tapes and include new sleeve notes by respected music journalist Terry Staunton (Uncut, Classic Rock, Record Collector), plus upgraded art work with many rare photos and memorabilia. Each is packaged with a second CD containing the complete collection of B-sides.

Originally released on A&M Records in July 1989, ‘Waking Hours’ was Del Amitri’s million-selling breakthrough album, and included the hits ‘Nothing Ever Happens’ and ‘Kiss This Thing Goodbye’. The follow-up, ‘Change Everything’ was released in June 1992, reaching No.2 in the albums chart, only being held off the top slot by the might of ‘The Bodyguard’ soundtrack. Produced by Gil Norton, the album featured the hit singles ‘Always The Last To Know’ and ‘Be My Downfall’. Released in February 1995, ‘Twisted’ charted at No.3 and included Del Amitri’s biggest ever single ‘Roll To Me’, which reached No.10 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Following these releases, Del Amitri will hit the road in January 2014 for their first tour in over a decade. With a cast of original members and even the original crew, the band will play every hit from every era of their recording career in The A to Z Of Us. Justin Currie and Iain Harvie will once again be joined on stage by Andy Alston, Kris Dollimore and Ashley Soan.