Independent Music Publicity


Welsh duo Man Without Country return with new album Maximum Entropy, released 19th January 2015 on Lost Balloon. Combining sleek electronic minimalism with a love of classic pop music, Man Without Country develop the atmospheric electronica of 2012’s debut Foe into a rich, gorgeous and altogether bolder style on Maximum Entropy. There are infectious and compelling melodies to spare, as Ryan James and Tomas Greenhalf merge the pared-back synths of Ulrich Schnauss and East India Youth with the adventurous quest to redefine pop music shared with early electronic pioneers like The Human League. The album was recorded, produced and mixed entirely by the band in their home studios in South Wales.

Rarely since the dawn of synthesisers merging with pop music has there been a song as deliriously infectious as Maximum Entropy’s lead single Laws Of Motion, featuring vocals from Morgan Kibby. The album also features a stunning cover of The Beloved’s Sweet Harmony, reimagined for a new generation of clubbers while maintaining the original’s state of bliss. The track, a club hit over the summer, has received the blessing of The Beloved’s singer Jon Marsh.

Man Without Country’s Ryan James provides the hypnotic, fragile vocal on Röyksopp’s new single Sordid Affair, travelling to the seminal Norwegian duo’s Bergen studio to record the track. Following the release of Foe, Man Without Country supported M83 before embarking on their own lengthy headline US & European tours. With so much touring under their belts, the band have developed into a formidable live force.