Independent Music Publicity


Lake Street Dive has released Fun Machine: The Sequel, their new 6-track covers EP now available digitally and on CD and cassette via Fantasy Records. (Vinyl configurations will be available December 9th, 2022.) The specially curated collection features songs by some of the band’s favorite artists and composers including The Pointer Sisters, Dionne Warwick, Shania Twain, Carole King, The Cranberries and Bonnie Raitt.

Lake Street Dive describes Fun Machine: The Sequel: “Imagine you walk into your favorite local dive bar and Lake Street Dive is on stage, doing our regular weekly gig for $5 a head. These are the songs we’d be covering there and how we’d be playing them. Some deep cuts, some sentimental favorites and some (hopefully) epic crowd pleasers.”

Produced by Robin MacMillan and recorded at Figure 8 Recording in Brooklyn and Lucy’s Meat Market in Los Angeles (with contributions from touring guitarist/background vocalist, James Cornelison), Fun Machine: The Sequel is the band’s second set of distinctive cover songs. While 2012’s Fun Machine paid homage to their classic R&B, neo-soul, and jazz roots, Fun Machine: The Sequel expands the aperture a little wider, featuring selections ranging from R&B and pop favorites like Dionne Warwick’s (the Burt Bacharach/Hal David penned) classic “Anyone Who Had A Heart,” and The Pointer Sisters’ funky “Automatic,” to works by introspective singer-songwriters such as The Cranberries’ gorgeous “Linger,” Carole King’s timeless “So Far Away,” Bonnie Raitt’s era-defining “Nick Of Time,” and even Shania Twain’s suddenly resurgent pop-country anthem, “You’re Still The One.”

To commemorate the 10-year anniversary of the original Fun Machine EP, Lake Street Dive recently released two fantastic live performance videos recorded on the same Boston street corner where they filmed their (now viral) cover of the Jackson 5’s “I Want You Back,” which helped fuel the band’s incredible rise a decade ago. Watch their sublime take on Bonnie Raitt’s classic “Nick of Time,” HERE and their ebullient performance of The Pointer Sisters’ “Automatic,” HERE.

For Lake Street Dive, vocalist Rachael Price; bassist/background vocalist, Bridget Kearney; drummer/background vocalist, Mike Calabrese and keyboardist/vocalist, Akie Bermiss, the prospect of covering some of their favorite songs in the studio wasn’t just an exercise in breathless adoration. The approach was artful re-invention, a way to celebrate their inspirations while also advancing their own musical foundationall in hopes of inspiring a new generation of fans along the way.